top of page
  • Writer's pictureAutumn Rivers

BOOK REVIEWS

****From the beginning, this book had my attention. I was completely hooked. The dynamics between the characters is very compelling. This book will take you on an emotional roller coaster ride. I highly recommend this book to everyone who loves YA stories with emotional truths.


****This is a solid debut novel for Autumn Rivers.

This high school-centered story is crazy intense. The main characters have had traumatic events that have shaped them in sad, sad ways. Josephine has the count down on until she can move out of her stepfather's home. Doing her best to stay in the shadows at home and at school. While Hunter does everything he can to irritate his parents and keep his best friend out of too much trouble. All the while, throwing away a gifted mind to improve the world.


This story navigates Jo and Hunter's budding love story. There are definitely sweet, sweet moments (not much to any steam). There are ups and downs, the newness of realizing how much you could truly care for someone, and some truly heart-wrenching moments. There are terribly painful abuse scenes in this book so if you are triggered by that, pay attention to the warnings.


I can't say if I liked one character over the other. I found both of them on par with how high school kids act. I did enjoy the storyline and how things ended up, eventually. The reality of teenage issues in this book (I don't want to give any spoilers here) is spot on. The author gives a realistic voice to the pain and behavior J & Hunter project throughout the book.


As I mentioned, this is a great debut for this writer. I think time and experience will bring the readers even better stories! I look forward to following Autumn Rivers to see where she takes us.



****When I first started reading this book I was not sure I would like it. Then I started reading: chapter one; chapter two; chapter three; and before I knew it, I have finished reading the book. I really love how it shows the perspective of both main characters. It helps answer the questions that so many authors do not answer. I cannot wait for book two, and I know it will be as good as this one! ❤❤



****I read The Good Girl's Secrets in its earliest stages. This story follows Josephine and Hunter, two characters who both struggle with past traumatic events. Through these events, they discover who they are together. This book is beautifully written and this author does a fanatic job, at conveying their message. This story will make you cry. The style of this book is written from the perspective of both characters. The author does a brilliant job at flipping between the two narratives/perspectives. I look forward to a sequel to this brilliant book.



***This first book of this author and I love it. This author had gave me a wonderful story. I don't have a favorite person in this story. Normally I would but this book I definitely don't have a favorite. This author is amazing and I can't wait for what this author has to come next.



****So I finished my beta read last night. I'm so glad I had the honor of reading this book, The Good Girl's SECRETS, as one of the first to experience it! Here's my rating....⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟/5 but here's why.......⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

I was captured from the first chapter, learning about this good girl and her rough life pulled me right in. I was sympathizing and crying for over half the book. Not many books hit me in the feels like this one did.⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

It'll be at least a few more weeks before it's published, but as soon as it is I recommend this one to all emotional readers😍











1 view0 comments
  • Amazon
  • Instagram
  • Pinterest
  • Spotify
bottom of page